Movie-like career

Unless you are hibernating, you would know that this year sees the latest installment in the Star Wars saga.
I’m not a huge fab in any fashion, however the distinct noise of a Lighsaber is what I enjoy the most. Of late I’ve realized that movies are the greatest gift we could receive. To second this, I would mention not only do they entertain us, but help us learn, to reflect an to implement. One such big learning, is by the Jedi, extremely relevant to our careers.

“Do or Do not. There is no Try.” Yoda
In our daily roles, we face so many challenges (I’m glad I’m not an insomniac yet, cause of the situations I’ve had) yet it’s the only thing that makes our work enjoyable. Let’s speak of a Star Performer or an underperformer in any organization, any country, market or hierarchy; there’s just one thing that always stands out. The Attitude. Whenever I have a chat with the Superstar, they have a “can do” attitude. They can always figure out a way and would deliver. They are no miracle babies, it’s their attitude that makes them successful and that’s how they deliver.

“You may dispense with the pleasantries, commander. I’m here to put you back on schedule.” -Darth Vader
When I first started my career as a Recruiter, I was all over the place. I struggled to plan my day, my tasks and what was expected out of me. An now when I look back to the torturous Darth Vader, I realize what he tried telling us. That planning is the key. To be organized is what sorts you out and help you achieve what you aim for.

“If you strike me down, I shall become more powerful than you could possibly imagine.” -Obi-wan Kenobi.
Nothing can be so self explanatory and worthless. Someone once told me, to take a leap you must know how to take the fall, another way of saying the same stuff. It’s only when we fall we realize what our true strength is to get up and get going. The ones who try achieve heights while the rest succumb to failure.

“Never tell me the odds.” -Princess Leia
As a little girl, Princess Leia influenced me the most. Teaching little girls they can be whoever they want to be and it’s not them being a girl desire their fate. Who else could carry off a white cloak so sexily and be a sensation, have the brains to use the DDC Defender (the coolest part) and get to date Han!!!

If we all put a little thought into what we watch and relate to it, we would be amazed by the beauty of it all.

Leave a Reply

